Have you ever felt like you did not add up? Have you ever felt like you had so much to give, but were never given the chance to shine? Have you ever tried to be something you are not in order to get attention? Have you ever felt like your happiness depended on how others view you? 

A few years ago in my engineering course, the video below was shown and left me speechless. The video was inspirational and encouraging, assuring me know that sometimes happiness does not come from having the best of things, but working with what you have. Many times in life, we as people like to compare ourselves to others and if we do not add up to what others are and have, then we feel incomplete and not good enough.

7nmfkppqka9mo

However, my mom always said,

“the grass is not always greener on the other side.”

My dad warned me,

“be careful what you wish for because you just might get it.”

q8fad6gjq97jo

One thing I realized is that in order to receive some of the finer things in life, I need to appreciate what I have now. In the long run, with more money and material things, there are a whole set of other obstacles that come with it. Material things will not change what has already been, nor will they add quality to the person I am.

I hope the video is as inspiring to you as it was for me and remember that no one can control your happiness but you. Take charge of your life and start living and be free enough to be yourself. Sometimes the smallest or unwanted things hold within them the best gifts.

eb53ba7166db184f5a93cb42261bdd79

